There are many types of stucco claddings, but they can best be split into three primary types:
  1. Traditional - three-coat stucco;
  2. Two-coat stucco;
  3. And exterior insulating and finish systems (EIFS).

Traditional stucco aka 3-Coat Stucco aka Californian Stucco aka Conventional Stucco

The traditional application of stucco and metal lath occurs in three coats after building paper over substrate: the scratch coat, the brown coat and the finish coat.

The two base coats of plaster are either hand-applied or machine sprayed. The finish coat can be troweled smooth, hand-textured, floated to a sand finish or sprayed.
ADEX Conventional Stucco
DuRock Conventional Stucco
DuRock Two-Coat Stucco
Direct-Applied One-coat stucco aka Two-coat stucco

When applied over concrete surfaces, the lath does not needed. The applied surface must be clean, dry and free of material like paint or oil. One-coat stucco has just one base coat about 1/2-inch thick with a finish coat, so these claddings are sometimes called “two-coat.”

As a building material, stucco is a durable, attractive, and weather-resistant wall covering. It was traditionally used as both an interior and exterior finish applied in one or two thin layers directly over a solid masonry, brick or stone surface. The finish coat usually contained an integral color and was typically textured for appearance.

Exterior insulating and finish systems (EIFS). Please Click